Tau Sigma National Honor Society

Tau Sigma Honor Society

Tau Sigma Membership

Students admitted to UT Dallas for the first time (undergraduate, degree seeking students) in spring 2020, summer 2020 and/or fall 2020 who meet the below criteria will be sent membership invitations in Spring 2021.

Membership invitations were sent to eligible students from 2019 in May 2020. Merchandise purchased by new members is being held at the Tau Sigma national office until the Transfer Student Services office physically reopens on UTD campus. Email communications will be sent to new members at that time, providing options for merchandise pickup or mailing.

Do you have questions about membership? Please contact the Tau Sigma advising office, Transfer Student Services, at [email protected].

UT Dallas students are eligible for Tau Sigma membership if they meet the following criteria:

  1. You must transfer to a four year institution of higher learning from another academic institution with at least one full year's academic credits satisfied at the prior institution(s.).
  2. You must be registered in a course of study leading to a bachelor's degree for an amount of work equal to an average full load. (Only credit hours that count toward a bachelor's degree can be used to determine Tau Sigma eligibility.)
  3. Membership in the organization shall be based upon superior academic achievement by students during their first term at UT Dallas. Only UT Dallas grades and degree-seeking hours are used to determine membership eligibility.
  4. The minimum academic average required for membership is a 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.
  5. Students must complete the required application and pay a membership fee on time. Students are invited to join Tau Sigma one time. Students who miss the deadline are not eligible to join at a later date.

About Tau Sigma

Tau Sigma National Honor Society, an academic honor society for transfer students, was formally installed on campus and inducted 93 members at its inauguration in April 2009. There are currently 652 members in UT Dallas' Beta Rho Chapter.

Tau Sigma recognizes the academic excellence of transfer students, while encouraging and promoting involvement in the University community, especially in activities that assist other transfer students in making a successful transition.

Students are invited to join this organization after completing one semester (12 semester credit hours or more) at UT Dallas and earning at least a 3.5 UT Dallas GPA. Invitations are typically mailed in February. For more information, visit the Tau Sigma National Honor Society website.

Transfer Services Staff

Tau Sigma Officers

President: Mary Farahmand
Vice President: Dylan Newberry

President: Mary Farahmand
Vice President: Henil Shah

President: Jacquelyn Zbranak
Vice President: Fabiola Romero
Treasurer: Stephany Alvarado
Historian: Devon Youngbird
Secretary: Hayley Vaughan

President: Jacquelyn Zbranak
Vice President: Sahar Nadimi
Secretary: Brittney Daniel

President: Naa Ashardey Sackey-Addo
Vice President: Candra Williams
Treasurer: Angela Staten

President: MacKenzie Ridgle
Vice President: Hung Hoang Tran
Treasurer: Nhat Pham
Secretary: Naa Ashardey Sackey-Addo